Give Me

Standard

Give me sweet fall days
warm afternoons
cloudless skies
mountain mazes

Give me childlike wonder
innocent questions
unwavering trust
perfect love

Give me big city lights
concrete jungles
urban rhythms
skyscraper dreams

Give me beauty and art
breathtaking paintings
captivating performances
music and motion

Give me classrooms of learning
students with stories
quiet-nooked libraries
lightbulbs exploding

Give me passports to adventure
untasted delicacies
secreted new lands
friendships not yet begun

Give me the broken and lonely
wandering confused
secret doubters
prodigal daughters

Give me the fatherless children
bullied heroes
frightened victims
brave warriors

Give me arms to hold
breath to share
love to paint
grace to journey
persistence to never accept less

2 responses »

  1. Very nice. I really felt the sense of wonder in this poem. I especially liked this stanza:

    Give me the broken and lonely
    wandering confused
    secret doubters
    prodigal daughters

    I’m not sure why, but it felt raw and real. And I liked the use of “prodigal daughters” instead of sons. It was fresh. I recently started writing poetry and I would love it if you stop buy and leave some feedback. Good or bad. I hope to continue to improve.

Leave a Reply

