Beautiful Silver Scaled Fish

Standard

Beautiful, silver scaled fish
For a brief moment I held you, trembling,
On the end of my hook

Your dark, inky eyes pierced into me
And I could tell
You contemplated your future in my hands
I could see
(in a blink of an eye)
A part of you was willing to give yourself to me

Your shaking body quieted
I breathed inspiration into your gills
You stared at me
On the precipice of surrender

Then with a graceful flick of your fin
You leapt off the hook
Suspended in mid-air as you hesitated
Between leaping into my cupped hands
And the foaming aqua pool
And then you flung yourself away from me

The ocean whispered in my ear that night
It sang to me of your regret
And I smiled, knowing your beautiful inconstancy

Leave a Reply

