Coming Home

Standard

they asked me how I got so far from you,
how long I ran on this journey away from home
but looking back I never ran,
No, that is not how I got here
on some angry track with hair blowing in the wind
It started with a glance over my shoulder,
a toss of my head as I turned to survey the other possibilities
It started with a glance and a small backwards step
This journey took years, one small sidling step at a time
Until I stopped and found I’d traveled through countries
over oceans and up mountains
it was never a long journey running away
I never found the path difficult to walk
So why is it that turning back toward home has proven so daunting
Why are these forward steps
so  much harder than the backward ones
Feet knee-deep in sand, drenched in confusion
Pulling out each foot, planting it in a new direction
Returning toward home

2 responses »

  1. That’s always satan’s trick…to make the backward glance and succeeding backward steps so easy that we don’t even realize that we have taken them!! But.. thank God, when we do realize it if we confess it to our Heavenly Father and in faith place our hand in His, He lovingly gently, but firmly pulls us back up onto the Highway to Heaven. II think the secret is that once He’s placed us back on the highway, to keep holding onto His hand!!!

Leave a Reply

