Remember

Standard

Occasionally,
when the busyness that consumes my life
is hiccupped by some strange interruption,
I hear you whispering to me—
“Remember.”
Sometimes I hear your voice and I smile
but often I blink back tears
hating myself for having ever forgotten
for letting silly distractions steal you from me

“Remember”
you say
and sometimes I try to push your voice away
too comfortable in my self-made world
to want your memory creeping in
interrupting my plans

“Remember”
you cry
and you call me back
and the memories wash over me in waves
and I am all alone in an ocean of
You.

“I remember”
I whisper.
“I will remember.”

Leave a Reply

