Cause nobody wants to sleep in an oversized t-shirt

Standard

Yesterday I went shopping through the clearance section of my favorite Old Navy and made my first purchases for my future foster kids. I know, I know, I don’t even know what age or gender I’ll be getting. And it will be months before they arrive.

I just couldn’t help myself.

First things I picked up were this adorable scarf and hat.

20130504-214408.jpg

The scarf was only $.23 and the hat was $.47. Yeah, that’ll do! Kids in Syracuse always need winter accessories!

Then I picked up some PJs.

20130504-214802.jpg

Here’s the story . . . When kids come into shelter or foster care they’re often given an oversized t-shirt to sleep in. It’s even suggested in the foster parent handbook. Wen you think about it, it’s one of the few affordable options when you never know the age or gender of the kid you’ll be getting. But what kid wants to come to a strangers house and then get stuck with an oversized t-shirt. Especially boys. So I’m on a mission to collect kids PJs in a variety of sizes and suitable for both boys and girls. Clearance racks and yard sales beware!

4 responses »

  1. This seems like a great idea for a charity drive, like getting backpacks and suitcases for kids so they don’t have to use trash bags. Something to make them feel human and valued. I hope you find a good stash of pj’s for the little (or not-so-little) ones you foster.

Leave a Reply

