Your mission, should you choose to accept it . . .

Standard

I feel it’s one of my missions in life to spread the love of reading to kids. Reading probably saved me as a kid/teen who faced a lot of drama. Reading allowed me to escape to another place, a magical place of excitement, adventure, fantasy, honor, and love. So its natural that I want to share this love with others.

And so tomorrow night I’m heading out to an awesome book sale with my friend Scott, where I am planning on stocking up! I can’t wait to fill shelves with books for my future foster kids! I’m sure I’ll end up getting some treasures for my adorable niece as well!

If you were going to stock up on kids books, would be on your must-list?

3 responses »

  1. It depends on the age/child. I have a list for everything from read-aloud to adult books I can give to teenagers. For kids, Dr. Seuss is a (well-known) must. Once they start getting older, I like books like Terry Pratchett or Neil Gaiman’s children books, and fantasy books like The Dark is Rising or Narnia. Comic books and graphic novels are a good thing to stock up on, too. It’s an easy way to get kids to start to read more. My uncle started reading exclusively comic books, and now he reads three books a week.

Leave a Reply

