The “C” Word

Standard

It’s time to talk about it.  Commitment.  When it comes to writing, I have some serious commitment issues.

I was speaking with someone the other day about starting a writer’s group.  Mostly because I need some accountability.  My amazing friend Karissa just finished the first draft of her book.  She got up at 4:30am every day to write.  4 freakin 30.  The only time I see that time of day is when I haven’t gone to bed yet.  She also has a full-time job and a family.   But she made time, she set goals, and she is getting stuff done.  She is superwoman.

This is Karissa and I, with our awesome friend Susan, back-in-the-day.  So far back my hair’s not even red.  Karissa is the one with the shortest hair.  She looks even more beautiful today, despite the fact that she’s had two kids.  Did I mention that she’s superwoman?

4558_115741736456_5941689_n

Then there’s Tripp.  Tripp is a college professor-speaker-actor-animal wrangler-musician-skateboarder-pacifist.  Oh yeah.  And an author.  He’s written/contributed to 13 books.  THIRTEEN.  How does he do that?  I don’t know, but that guy cranks out books like it’s nobody’s business.  He is both ten degrees of brilliant and the coolest guy ever.  If you met him in real life you might be deceived by his slacker-like t-shirt collection.  But don’t be fooled.  Anyone who has written 13 books before they’ve turned 40 doesn’t have a slacker bone in their body.

4320_1095024947938_4231124_n

Here are Tripp and I with the cast of “The King Stag” back in college.  He’s the one with the weird horn on his head.  I’m the one wearing the neon yellow dress made out of a curtain.  (I was totally allergic.  That’s a whole other story for Murphy to tell.)  Too bad I can’t seem to find the photo of me carrying him up the stairs.  That one is awesome.

Anyway . . . back to the point.  I need some accountability.  And although I have amazing writer-friends, they all live far away.  Hence the idea for a writers group.  Anyone in the Central New York area interested?

 

5 responses »

  1. Amanda, I am NO superwoman! There were many days I slept through my alarm and then neglected my kids at night to write. There were some days I wrote on my lunchbreak. Like you, I’m super jealous of Tripp. You are a wonderful writer and I know you can do it!!

  2. First off…what an awesome attitude (and support of your friend). Made me smile. Second, way to respond by challenging yourself to a small goal. I wish I lived in New York and could join in!

Leave a Reply

