Goodbyes are not always forever.

Standard

Last week I wrote about saying goodbye to the child I had tutored this year.  I wondered if I would ever get the chance to see her again.  Today I did!

I tutor at an inner city school through a program organized by a literacy coach who attends my church.  When we created the tutoring program we introduced the 4th graders at the school to an incentive program.  At the end of the school year every child who had raised their Lexile score by 100 points would be invited to a party where they would be entered in a drawing.  Ten lucky kids would receive new pairs of sneakers.  When this program was started and the incentive plan mapped out, I wasn’t yet on staff at my church, so I didn’t really know anything about it.  Last week I got the opportunity to jump in and help make it happen.

So today I had an ice cream party with 35 kids who had raised their Lexile scores by 100 points or more.  And my amazing girl was one of them!  If a child raised their score 200 points or more they got two entries in the drawing.  And she was one of those kids!  I’m so proud of her!  And so happy that I got to see her again.  I then headed over to our local Sports Authority to purchase the sneakers the kids chose, where a team of four staff bent over backwards to make sure every kid got an awesome pair of shoes.  It’s great to know that ten lucky kids will be smiling brighter tomorrow!  I’m so happy that I’m a part of a church that makes awesome things like this happen and believes in the value of supporting our city schools!

It’s also nice to know that goodbyes are not always forever.  I’m sure that’s a hope I’ll hold onto as a foster parent.

Leave a Reply

