Blog Challenge: Day 2

Standard

Today’s challenge is fun–20 Random Facts About Me.  So, in no particular order, here are some random facts that perhaps you didn’t know.

1.  Since I left home at 17, I have moved 28 times.  Some of those were moves within the same city, but still–that’s a lot of moving.

2.  When I was in high school I worked as a DJ at a radio station.  Mostly I just pushed buttons for pre-selected play lists or Cubs games.  But I did get to do the voice-overs for commercials and select, edit, and read news stories from the AP feed.

3. Even though my entire professional career has been in ministry, that was not my first (or even my second) career plan.  My undergrad degree is in theatre with a minor in vocal performance.  I wanted to act.  If that didn’t work out, I was going to be a PR agent for a theatre company, so I actually have a double major in communication.

4.  I have a deep love of Mexican food.  This is troubling because there is a severe shortage of good Mexican restaurants in Central New York.

5. I used to have conversational skills in Arabic.  The longer I’m back in America, the more of it I lose, which is kind of heartbreaking.

6.  I have two brothers and one sister.  I’m the oldest.  I used to take care of my siblings all the time.  In fact, the younger two have childhood memories of coming with me to everything–play rehearsal, cheer practice, show choir sessions–and sitting in the back of the room.  This was very exciting for them, I’m sure.

7. I am a total book addict.  I’m not even ashamed.

8. I paint to relieve stress.  I would love to open a studio where people cold come in and paint and drink wine and de-stress.  I don’t really want to run this studio–just get paid for my brilliant idea.

9.  I have lots of brilliant ideas that I want people to invent/come up with.  Sometimes they actually do get created.  If I’d taken the time to sell my ideas I might be rich by now.  Theoretically.

10. I am not an animal person.  Not a pet person.  Definitely Not.

11. Animals don’t like me either.  A horse once bit me.  True story.  They’re not as sweet as they look.

12. I usually get type-cast as the mean, loud, and obnoxious characters.  I have played Miss Hannigan in Annie, Lucy in You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown, and Eulalie Shinn (the Mayor’s wife) in The Music Man just to name a few.  I want to go on record and say that although I may be loud, I am NOT mean.  As for the obnoxious part . . . I’m really hoping that’s not true, either.

13.  The most embarrassing, crazy, insane things happen to me.  I promise.  Check out any of the Murphy’s Law stories on this blog if you doubt me.

14. I get really angry when people imply that I’m not intelligent or creative.  I’m not sure why these are such triggers for me, but they leave me spitting bullets.

15. I am an extreme night owl.  If left to my own devices I would stay up till about 4am and wake up around noon.  Unfortunately the rest of the world doesn’t work like that.  However, I am very blessed to have a job that doesn’t require me to be in at 8am each day.

16. The one day a week I have to be at work by 8am requires me to set approximately 7 alarms.

17.  I love kids so much that every year I let them torture me.  In about a week they are going to dump 12 Bags of Doom on my head–each bag containing such treasures as raw eggs, cornmeal, mayo, oatmeal, and feathers.  In past years I’ve let them throw pies, spaghetti, chocolate covered marshmallows, and slime at me.  This is usually the highlight of the year for them.

18. I love living in big cities.  Every time I see NYC in a movie or TV show I get nostalgic.  When I was a kid I used to kneel at my window and pray that God would let me live long enough to live in the city.  Did I mention that I grew up in a very small town–so small we didn’t even have a Wal-mart.

19. I was definitely a daddy’s girl growing up.  Absolutely in love with my dad.  When I was in trouble my mom could spank me and I’d laugh in her face, but all dad had to do was give me “the look” and I’d start crying and promising I’d never disappoint him again.  My dad died when I was 11, but I will always carry him in my heart.

20.  My younger brother, Justin, and I have the coolest tradition ever.  We exchange books of poetry on birthdays and at Christmas.  I love giving and receiving books as gifts–I think everyone should do it.  Did I mention that I’m a book addict?

So, there you go.  20 Random Facts about me.  What are your 20?

Here are Karla’s 20 Random Facts.

One response »

Leave a Reply

