Blog Challenge: Day 3

Standard

Today’s challenge is to write about your deepest fear.  Some people are afraid of public speaking, spiders, heights, airplanes.   I’ve never had any of those common fears.  I once got reprimanded for walking in a “bad” neighborhood during a prayer walk.  They tried to explain the rules to me–“We’re just here to stay in the police-guarded park, not cross the street and mingle with the locals.”  When that didn’t work, someone finally asked me, “Aren’t you afraid to go over there?”   I laughed in the face of danger–or at least, in their face.  “Seriously?”  I said, “I’m going to live in the Middle East and you think I’m afraid to pray with someone when there are police standing 300 feet away?”

Yeah, I live on the wild side.  Not really.  But I don’t have a lot of fears.  I do have one though.  A deep-set fear that has followed me my whole life.  I’m afraid that when I die, my life won’t have amounted to much.  I’m afraid of it not being worth-while.  When I was studying the life of John Calvin in school I was severely discouraged–by the time he was 23 he had a law degree and had already published a book.  At 23 I was still trying to figure out what exactly I was doing with my life and which Starbucks drink was my favorite.

Turning 30 was easy for me, but when I turned 33 I was incredibly discouraged.  I had now lived as long as Jesus and look at everything he had done.  I mean, I know I’m not Jesus, it’s just . . . I want my life to mean something.  I want to make an impact.  I want the world to be a better place because I have been in it.  And my biggest fear is that I’ll fail at that goal.

What about you?  What are you afraid of?

And check out what Karla’s afraid of.  

Leave a Reply

