Screaming and Covered in Blood

Standard

I woke up in the middle of the night to find Little Man covered in blood.  Like, so much blood everywhere I couldn’t even figure out what the heck was going on, covered in blood.  It was matted in his hair, all over his entire face, in his nose, on his teeth, on his hands, all over his pajamas, and blanket, and rug.  And by this time, all over me as well.  I whisked him up and set him on the dresser/changing table and began to feign non-panic, as I attempted to wipe the blood away and figure out where the heck it was coming from.  I checked his head first, but no cuts, then I began to focus on his forehead and cheeks.  Nothing.  Soon I’m noticing that most of this blood is dry and/or clotted.  He appears to not be currently bleeding.  This is a good thing.  Finally after about 10 minutes of cleaning blood off his face and head I determine that he has most likely had a nose bleed and somehow bit his lip–so the blood was coming from two places, but both are currently ok.  My best guess is that he had a nose bleed, woke up covered in bed, got freaked out, and bit his lip.  That’s when he started screaming and woke me up.

We work on cleaning up some more, and then we start the process of trying to get him back to bed.  And this is not a pretty picture.  He is understandably terrified.  I mean, I would be too if I woke up covered in blood.  The process of getting him to fall asleep takes about an hour and is punctuated by his heartbreaking cries of “mama, mama” trying to get me to come sleep with him.  After numerous cycles of me going in, cuddling him, singing, and then walking away to let him try to fall asleep, he eventually fell asleep.

Needless to say, we both woke up very tired this morning, and me with a migraine.  Good news is he’s all better now and this morning seemed to not even remember what happened last night.

4 responses »

  1. Wow, that must have been scary. Joel fell out of his crib, didn’t know he was standing yet, and hit his lip on the way down. When I got to him, he had blood on his face – I freaked. Fortunately I had a friend who had 3 boys and she calmed me, told me to check dilation of his eye for concussion. He was fine. Glad to know you are both doing well this morning.

  2. I second the humidifier. That happened to me a lot as a kid. Even as old as 11, 12, and 13 it would freak me out to wake up with blood pouring uncontrollably out of my nose and I’ve immediately start yelling, “MOM! MOM! MOM!”
    Does he have trouble sleeping often? Gabe does, too, so we use a weighted blanket and have a CD playing very softly all night- http://www.amazon.com/Sing-Over-Me-Worship-Lullabies/dp/B000GEU6FO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1395494192&sr=8-1&keywords=sing+over+me It really brings a feeling of peace to the WHOLE house, and if nothing else, gives him something to listen to while he’s laying quietly and falling asleep.

Leave a Reply

