A new addition to the family

Standard

I got a placement call today for a little three month old boy. They were originally looking to remove him from his home today and needed a foster family. However bio mom wouldn’t sign the consent form, so it will all go down in court on Thursday morning. Barring any changes (which, let’s face it, could always happen in foster care) I will get a new addition to my little family sometime Thursday.

You may be asking if I’m crazy. Believe me, I’m asking it too! But it’s hard to say no when I know there’s a precious little one in need of a loving home and I have both the space and love to give.

Given what I was told about the situation he’s coming from, I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s moved to a kinship (family member) placement fairly soon. But again, you never know with foster care.

So now I’m in a mad rush to get ready– baby proofing/cleaning the floors, purchasing/borrowing all the necessary baby gear (bottles, diapers, formula, toys, car seat, pacifiers, blankets, clothing, etc.), and trying to mentally prepare for another huge adjustment to my life.

In other news, the last couple of days have been great with Little Man! He’s talking so much now!!! I have discovered two things that work phenomenally well with him. The first is choices. I’m a big advocate for choices. Ask anyone who’s been to one of my trainings on classroom management. But the amount of choices necessary to make for a smooth evening with Little Man are astronomical. A three minute conversation includes all of the following choices:
* What do you want to do next? A bath or medicine?
* Do you want to walk into the kitchen or ride the trike?
* Do you want to help pour the chips (peanut butter chips necessary before taking the meds) or do you want mommy to do it?
* Do you want to sit in your chair or on mommy ‘s lap?
* Do you want to help me pour the medicine or do you want mommy to do it?
* Do you want to hold the spoon or do you want mommy to?

That’s an average of one question every 30 seconds. With traveling to the kitchen, eating peanut butter chips, pouring medicine, drinking medicine, and running away from me a couple of times thrown in as well. Multiply that by the minutes in a day. It can be exhausting but it really works.

Another thing I have found super useful is songs. This boy has music in his soul. He has learned a ton of vocabulary from the songs I play him. But while on vacation my awesome friend Sharon taught me a song to help kids remember to look before crossing the street. An important lesson for my son who likes to make a mad dash in every parking lot, driveway, and street. And though it hasn’t cured him yet, we’re making progress. And as I’ve implemented songs in other areas he has a hard time following directions, he’s improving in those areas as well. So I’ve become a master songwriter. If you consider master level things like “down the stairs, down the stairs we go, left, right, left, right, we’re marching down the stairs .” I’m sure you’re all blown away.

So that’s it in my crazy world right now. A whole lot of insanity!!!

Leave a Reply

